2014 Sam Kromer Flight Doubles

July 16-20, 2014

2014 Kromer Doubles entry form (entry deadline July 9th @ 4pm)

Sam Kromer, former Athletic Director and coach at St. Clair County Community College, came up with this format in 1973. He wanted to see that every player had a chance to win. Every tennis-playing community needs a flight tennis tournament to compliment the traditional tournaments. Because of the established practice of seeding in the traditional tournament most novice players draw a more skilled player, making their tournament exposure brief. Therefore, approximately half of the players in most tennis tournaments play one match, then it’s over. We have been playing both singles and doubles Flight Tennis in Port Huron since 1974, and it is appealing to a wider spectrum of participants continually. Of course, flight tournaments attract experienced players, but just as important flight tennis appeals to the players who may avoid tournaments in which they could anticipate early termination. The idea is to assign players to flights with players of like ability. Six players (or teams) constitute the ideal flight. A local committee does our flighting and with few exceptions this arrangement works well. All six players/teams participate in round robin competition. During the round robin phase an 8-game pro set is played. Each flight is assigned two courts twice during the week to play their matches. Time and motion are important. Brief warm-up time, fill the courts quickly, and generally keep things moving. Each flight should play three matches the first night and two matches the second night. The top four players/teams qualify for the semi-finals played on Saturday. The first place player/team plays the fourth place, and the second place player/team plays the third place. The winners play for the flight championship on Sunday. The semis and finals are the best two out of three sets.

Flight Doubles “In the News”

3 teams take home Kromer titles – Port Huron Times Herald 2014-07-21

4 Finals set for today – Port Huron Times Herald 2014-07-20

WOMEN’S TEAMS SEMI-FINALS – Saturday 7/19 FINALS – Sunday 7/20
Championship Flight Wed/Thur 4pm, Cts 3 & 4

Danielle Slonac/Claire Brooks

Maggie Bacheller/Amy Tseng

Grace Whitney/Breana Knust

Rachel DeCaluwe/Haley Palazzolo

Ally Kennedy/Ally Winkler

Slonac/Brooks d Kennedy/Winkler 6-3, 6-1 Bacheller/Tseng d Whitney/Knust 6-4, 6-1 Slonac/Brooks d Bacheller/Tseng 7-6(2), 6-4
First Flight Wed/Thur 6pm, Cts 5 & 6

Annie Schultz/Shelly Schneider

Jen Douglas/Kate Khan

Mary Fajardo/Kathy McCabe

Katrina Marshall/Jackie Kirovac

Kristen Pillon/Kelly Shaw

Douglas/Khan d Pillon/Shaw 6-0, 6-0 Fajardo/McCabe d Marshall/Kirovac 6-2, 5-7, 6-2 Douglas/Khan d Fajardo/McCabe 6-3, 7-5
Second Flight Wed/Thur 3pm, Cts 5 & 6

Jillian Brooks/Sydney Sepsey

Murphy Vandervest/Sydney Westfall

Jamy Brooks/Isabella Flann

Margaret Smith/Elise McInnis

Brooks/Sepsey d Brooks/Flann 6-2, 6-3 Smith/McInnis d Vandervest/Westfall 6-3, 4-6, 6-2 Smith/McInnnis d Brooks/Sepsey 6-2, 6-4
Championship Flight Wed/Thur 6pm, Cts 1 & 2

Steve Pillon/Luke Ingles

Connor Johnston/Franklin Brozovich

Tim Gaul/William Gaul

Michael Coleman/Brian Slonac

Pillon/Ingles d Coleman/Slonac 6-1, 6-0 Johnston/Brozovich d Gaul/Gaul 7-5, 6-4 Pillon/Ingles v Johnston/Brozovich TBD
First Flight Wed/Thur 6pm, Cts 3 & 4

Frank Palazzolo/John Rose

Jeremy Rosenau/Matt Graham

Andrew McGrath/Pat McGrath

Geoff Bore/Jeff Blackman Terry Curley/Collin Lilley

Bore/Blackman d McGrath/McGrath 6-2, 6-7, 6-1 Curley/Lilley d Palazzolo/Rose 6-4, 6-4 Curley/Lilley d Bore/Blackman 6-3, 1-6, 6-4
Second Flight Wed/Thur 6pm, Cts TBD

Greg Gale/Bob Randolph

Tom Kosztowny/Vic Amato

Joseph Raymond/Donovan Sharrow

Burt Brooks/Todd Kinney

Kosztowny/Amato d Raymond/Sharrow 6-2, 6-2 Gale/Randolph d Brooks/Kinney 6-0, 6-2 Gale/Randolph d Kosztowny/ Amato 6-3, 6-1
Third Flight Wed/Thur 3pm, Cts 1 & 2

Jaxon Bore/Derek Distelrath

Quinn Schwarz/Chris Latosinsky

Ben Morgulec/Tyler Sweppy

Ryan Davies/Chandler Haagsma

Bore/Distelrath d Morgulec/Sweppy 6-0, 6-2 Schwarz/Latosinsky d Davies/Haagsma 6-4, 6-3 Bore/Distelrath d Schwarz/Latosinsky 6-0, 6-3